Supercompensation – Part 3

Tactical Workout 

To accommodate my crazy schedule and with the competition being only 3 weeks from now, my workout plan has become ever-changing. 

Today, I went for an intensive strength and power workout with a lot of tactical drills designed to stimulate my Anaerobic Alactic System. After a regular warm up of light plyometric exercises, I performed some of my tactical karate fighting skills at near maximum speed.

First, I performed a circuit of simulated fighting of 4 explosive combination techniques and  2 exercises designed for speed (Bench Step & 45 degree Plyo Push up), executed in 6-10 seconds with a rest interval of  60-90 seconds of total rest between each technique. I tried to keep the ratio of work to rest interval at 1:8, to allow enough recovery time to restore my phosphocreatine stores. I repeated this circuit for a total of four sets. Then I realized my time was limited because I had in schedule another appointment so I finished off the session by stretching in the hot tub.

Supercompensation – Part 3

After going over the first phrase of supercompensation in the previous post, today I will talk about Phrase Two

In Phase Two, the muscle glycogen stores start refilling its sores and protein synthesis take place. These processes are dependent on the type and intensity of training performed as well as the amount of carbohydrates and proteins consumed during the initial compensation phase. The glycogen stores can be fully replenished in the following 24 hours while the protein synthesis increases by 50 percent in the next 4 hour with elevation above 100 percent in 24 hours.

For those who are confused about what protein synthesis is, it is a process in which cells manufacture proteins, from amino acids using information encoded in genes. There is a false belief that proteins are only building blocks for muscles, but in fact, they are involved in many cellular functions. This includes creating enzymes, producing antibodies for the immune system, binding with other molecules for an easy transportation (such hemoglobin transporting oxygen) and many other essential functions necessary for life.

The intensity of the workout and oxygen consumption also play an important role on protein synthesis as it can increase nervous system and hormonal activities. It is a direct result in the improved metabolism and rate of energy expenditure following intense exercises.

An increased in oxygen consumption after an intense workout  is created an Excess Post Exercise Oxygen Consumption (EPOC), with an increase of up to 500 percent in growth hormone which is our anti-aging hormone. This is EPOC can remain elevated up to 36 hours following an intense exercise.

Currently, I am preparing for my intensive week workout and put into practice what I intend to educate people about the importance of healthy living with proper nutrition and functional fitness.

Cheers,

Mario

Leave a Reply

