Prolotherapy – My Personal Experience – Part 2

You may have been told that your health problems are “untreatable and nothing can be done”.   Don’t give up your hope. Don’t let pain and physical disabilities to reduce you to a “vegetable”. Take care of your health NOW before you start to degenerate. Based on my personal experience, those are the best advices I can give to anyone suffering from a physical disability and pain. See if you can relate to my story, find the right therapy and take action to control your health.

images[1]After my car accident at the end of 2009, that generated soreness to my cervical and lumbar areas, I did everything it was recommended by my family doctor: pain killer medications, chiropracting, massage therapy, acupuncture and physiotherapy. Those treatments were good as they momentarily relieve my pain and stiffness. Unfortunately these approaches were only a temporary solution with temporarily results. With sitting or driving extended hours, the discomfort was reactivated, sometime with a sharp pain to my lower back and occasionally with stiffness and limited range of motion to my neck, which created additional pain that radiated also into my arm. Additionally doing push-up with a wide grip position activated my discomfort to my cervical area. At that time (2009/2010) I thought that I was still strong and will be only a matter of time to fully recover. But I was wrong again!

After two years of intermittent pain flares and different treatments, at the end of October 2011 I ended up with a sharp lower back pain which rushed me to the emergency room at St. Paul Hospital in Vancouver Canada. They injected me with some pain killer medicine (ketorolac) and sent me to see my family doctor. And the cycle was repeated again: more painkiller prescriptions, more massage therapies (which comforted me somehow) and more sessions of spinal adjustments which for the time being helped someway. But the soreness and discomfort was there nonstop. Soon I found myself in a continuous pain situation.

IMG_0753At that time (Oct/Nov 2011) I was selected to give nutritional consultation and to create a specific sport conditioning program for the Karate BC Competition Team in their preparation for the National Championship (Vancouver – March 2012). Being in pain and unable to properly move, I was so embarrassed, particularly when in front of more than 60 athletes I supposed to execute specific physical exercises to improve their speed and  their overall conditioning. Seeing again Dr. Jeff Almon (a Doctor of Chiropracting) for more spine adjustments, he recommended also considering an injectable proliferation therapy known also as ‘regenerative therapy’. Likewise Dr. Abbey (my family doctor) who research the proposed treatment and found good testimonials, concluded that at the moment the modern medicine cannot help me much, so prolotherapy might be a good alternative solution to my pain and discomfort.

And since prolotherapy is not a medically approved treatment, it is administered mostly by naturopathic doctors. So, I did my research, I read more articles and many reviews and I decided to try this PROLO-therapy. In fact “Prolo” is short for proliferation (growth, formation) and the treatment supports the regeneration and formation of new ligament tissue in areas where it has become weak.

DSCF2364b_000[1]So, I looked also for a qualified practitioner that has a good reputation and experience in administering these regenerative injections.   Since in Vancouver, they are not many experienced doctors who use prolotherapy in their practice, it was not hard to find Dr. Hal Brown from Integrative Naturopathic Medical Centre (former Integrative Healing Arts) in Vancouver, and start my treatment.

I choose Dr. Brown, for his 30 years’ experience as a licensed naturopathic physician, and acupuncturist in Vancouver BC, Canada. In fact what gave me more confidence were Dr. Brown’s credentials as a former chair of Physical Medicine and instructor at Boucher Institute of Naturopathic Medicine. He also served as Chair of the Manipulation Advisory Committee, and he is also a contributor to the Textbook of Naturopathic Physical Medicine and Naturopathic Doctor News & Review.

In short I knew who to trust my health to. And what influenced me to choose Dr. Brown was his philosophy:

It is my belief that the human body, mind and spirit are aspects of a single self-healing organism with a natural impulse towards integration. The mind will naturally move towards mental health, the body towards physical health, and the spirit towards understanding and fulfilment. Without interference, the body, mind and spirit will maintain an individual at optimal levels of health throughout all stages of life. However, if this natural flow of life force, or chi energy, is disrupted or interfered with, dysfunction may follow at the physical, biochemical, mental/emotional and electromagnetic levels. All of these areas are of concern and are addressed when dealing with health problems.

After a very thorough examination, that lasted about one hour, Dr. Hal Brown found that my chronic pain initiated some damages to my sympathetic nervous system, which is responsible for the immediate bodily response to traumas, such as severe, acute pain. Left untreated, this condition can further damage muscles, ligaments, joints and tendons.

So, Dr. Brown decided to start my first treatment (before prolotherapy) with what is called a Neural Therapy. Using injections with a sterile homeopathic medicines and a local anesthetic (such as procaine) into the ganglia of the sympathetic nervous system located in front of the vertebral column (in the cervical, thoracic and lumbar regions) he give some intensification to nerves supplying the internal connective tissues and other organs, in an attempt to initiate a healing response.

But since this is a more complex subject I will cover more into my next article: Prolotherapy – My Personal Experience – Part 3.

You can also read my previous articles posted on http://www.mariofit.ca and also subscribe to my e-newsletter by following this link: https://www.facebook.com/MarioFit.ca/app_100265896690345

Leave a Reply

