Easy to Prepare a Healthy Meal

Kids are a big inspiration sometimes. Lara (my 7 years daughter) wanted spinach, while Cora (my 5 years old kid) is hungry for eggs. And my time is limited. What to do? Go out and eat at a fast food restaurant? Or cook individually for each one of them? I don’t think so. And as I search my own library,  I founded many inspirational dishes, which can be served anytime: at Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. They are healthy, easy to be prepared and not so much time consuming.

photo 3

Cora and Lara tasting my Italian Frittata Spinach Omelette.

There are many good and tasty recipes to choose from, and the internet is full of knowledge and choices. But as a nutritionist consultant, and particularly as a Registered Holistic Nutritionist, my search is for only healthy but nutritious foods. Same is true for nutritional supplements. The market is full of baloney, and products that claim to do miracles.

Don’t believe them all. Since I am always interested in healthy foods and proper nutritional supplements, for me and for my family, I become my own experiment. And I decided to share with everybody the best of my personal experience, and the great tasting of nutritious foods.

Recently, I was inspired by the famous cook George Mateljan, who has had a lifelong devotion to using the power of food as a key to controlling and maintaining vibrant good health and longevity. s original recipe: Mushroom, Tomato, Basil, and Frittata. I called my meal:

The Italian Frittata Spinach Omelette

Since I didn’t plan in advance for my meal, I eliminated from the original recipe: the broth, the crimini mushroom and the fresh basil, and I improvised with other ingredients including spinach. Me and my kids love it and from now on, this meal will be part of my family healthy eating. For your convenience, I will post the Original George’s Recipe: Mushroom, Tomato, Basil Frittata, so you can adapt the meal to your convenience.

Preparation and Cook Time: approximated 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 medium onion, minced
  • 3 medium cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 TBS +1 TBS chicken broth
  • 1 cup thinly sliced crimini mushrooms
  • 1/2 medium tomato diced
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 TBS chopped fresh basil
  • Salt and black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Mince onions and press garlic and let sit for 5 minutes to bring out their hidden health benefits.
  2. Heat 1 TBS broth in a 10-inch stainless steel skillet. Healthy Sauté onion over medium low heat for 3 minutes, stirring frequently.
  3. Add garlic and mushrooms and continue to sauté for another 2 minutes.
  4. Add 1 TBS broth, tomato, salt, and pepper and cook for another minute. Stir well, and gently scrape pan with a wooden spoon to remove any slight burning.
  5. Beat eggs well, and season with salt and pepper. Mix in chopped basil. Pour eggs over vegetables evenly and turn heat to low. Cover and cook for about 5 minutes, or until firm. Cut into wedges and serve.

And now I want to give the right credit to the right people, who inspired me. As I mention before, today’s meal was a variation of George Mateljan’s healthy recipes. After George studied the cuisines of over 80 countries to learn the secrets of healthy, flavourful cooking, he created the George Mateljan Foundation and the Healthiest Way of Eating, as a non-profit organization dedicated to help make a healthier you and a healthier world. And indeed George’s organization helped many folks, (including me) not only to prepare easy and healthy meals, but also to educate them on the power of foods and their healing properties. You can learn more about George’s organization visiting his foundation website: ttp://www.whfoods.com

For more interesting articles and information on fitness, nutrition, healthy choices and top quality nutritional supplements, visit my webpage: www.mariofit.ca and subscribe to my e-newsletter.

Leave a Reply

